Love Bears: Childhood Confusions

November 15, 2012 § Leave a comment

When I was young my mom had a wooden bear with “Love Bears All Things” written on it. Similar to this:

It sat on her bathroom counter and any time I watched her put on makeup, I would study it like you study a map. So delicate. So smooth. So confusing.

As a kid, I did not realize that “love bears all things” referenced I Corinthians 13:7. I just assumed it meant that my mom really liked bears – which was weird since this was really the only image of a bear we had in our house.

Now that I am grown I understand that “bears” is not a noun in this case. So, yay. True love enables us to tolerate.

But also, whatever you do, love bears.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Love Bears: Childhood Confusions at Clever Days.

meta

