Soda Jerk, Italian Style

October 28, 2011 § Leave a comment

I need something smoother than pop but thicker than water, milder than coffee but sweeter than juice.

Soda Jerk passing an ice cream soda between two fountains (from Wikipedia)

Enter: the Italian Creme Soda. It’s smooth, creamy, sweet, and remarkably easy to make at home!

I made my own syrup since I was out of Monin. I combined 2 cups sugar and 1 cup tap water in a pot on the stove. I heated and stirred until the mixture was combined. Once it had become a smooth syrup, i added a small bottle (1 oz.) of raspberry extract. Then, I added some food coloring. (It should have been red to go with the raspberry flavor, but I was out of red. So, I used the next best thing.) I let the mixture cool until I could touch it, and then I put it in a glass bottle to store. I’ll keep it in the refrigerator until it’s gone – or for up to 1 month.

my Green Raspberry Italian Creme Soda

Make one for yourself. I promise it will make you happy.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Soda Jerk, Italian Style at Clever Days.

meta

