My Future: 10 Years Ago

June 5, 2011 § 2 Comments

Ten years ago was summer 2001 – and so much was happening in the present I didn’t have time to think about the future!

me with my best girlfriends in my class: Becky, Amanda, Tiffany, and Niki

At the end of my junior year of high school, I was quite certain I would be going to a small Christian college in Florida like most of my friends who were graduating that year. Though I had friends in my own class, I treasured the ones I had made in the grade ahead of me, and I almost dreaded my senior year without them. Fortunately, my senior year turned out to be a blast. Thanks to those who helped make it awesome.

Summer of 2001 I turned 17 – ready to start my senior year of high school! It was a good time. I had a job at a summer camp as a nanny, and I was thinking about being an au pair for a while in a foreign country. At that time I was waffling between majoring in acting and majoring in architecture. By the end of the year, I was gently talked out of acting by my mother and convinced that being an architect was not as exciting as it seemed. (I wanted to design cool houses – not office buildings!)

me pushing my ward Joshua in his stroller at camp

While nannying many of my extended family members visited the camp for a week of Family Camp. That was awesome! I stayed up until the wee hours of the morning playing games with the cousins while the adults sat around and gossiped talked. I know that I thought we’d be doing this regularly for summers to come.

some of the aunts & uncles chatting with Grandpa, Grandma, & Gram

We have gotten together for Family Camp once since that summer.

sweet Dad took the picture while we stood in front of the infamous lighthouse.

Later in Summer 2001 my immediate family took a trip to Cape Hatteras in North Carolina. (A place my mom and dad still go about every other year.) While we were there, we visited my aunt and uncle in Jacksonville at Camp LeJeune. While visiting, I remember seeing a picture of my cousin Andy and his girlfriend Katie. (Andy was on a mission trip in East Europe at the time, so I didn’t get to see him.) Katie wasn’t the girlfriend I had met last year; could she possible be as nice as that other girl? I was skeptical. Little did I know that Katie and I would become great friends – nor did I know that Andy and his brother Joe would become like my own brothers while I was at university.

As a 17-year-old, I thought I would graduate from college (no more than 4 years! no siree!), get married, and have kids a couple years later. On that timeline, I should have had my first kid in 2008. Yow.

I’m glad I’m not where I thought I would be – my sights are broader, my expectations are higher, and my family is dearer.

 

Edit: Incidentally, Summer 2001 was a pivotal summer for decisions. Being together with my family so much allowed for perspective in choosing how to spend my free time, how to conduct myself socially, and where I was headed after high school. Parents, do not forsake the importance of vacationing with your immediate family – and leaving friends behind.

Powered by Plinky

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to My Future: 10 Years Ago

  • ukulefty says:

    It’s amazing where life takes you. All my choices, good and bad, I wouldn’t change them. I wouldn’t be where I am today otherwise. Well, maybe I’d change one or two, haha!

  • Clever Days says:

    Agreed – I might change things like what I was wearing in that picture of the fam at Cape Hatteras, but that’s about it. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Future: 10 Years Ago at Clever Days.

meta

