My New Bike!

June 4, 2011 § 4 Comments

During the summer $10 goes a long way:

 I got a new bike!

‘Tis the season for bike riding, farmer’s markets, and picnics. Outdoor activities are a staple of summer, and unless you have a convertible, driving in a car to your destination seems like such a waste of precious time!

 Josh got me this vintage bike from a yard sale and I couldn’t be more thrilled!

 And of course – we had to go to Walmart to get a spiffy basket for my bike… just in case I find something at the farmer’s market!

 The bell was also a necessary purchase. Brrring!

The people we bought it from said it had been sitting in their garage – unused – for almost 20 years! Tires, seat, and chain are all original.

 Now, if you’ll excuse me, my bike and I have a date.

Edit: In researching I found out that this Free Spirit bike is called “Sheffield” and was sold at Sears Roebuck in the mid 1970’s. Pictures of this bike’s brothers & sisters reveal that both tires were probably originally yellow-wall, so my front tire must be a replacement. In any case, at $10 this bike was a steal.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to My New Bike!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My New Bike! at Clever Days.

meta

