Decisions, Decisions

May 29, 2011 § 5 Comments

My indecision is something that haunts me daily: What do I want to be when I grow up?

Choices

I like to think I’m whimsical and free-spirited, but I think I’m just non-committal. I’m coming to a point in my life when I need to decide what I am going to do with it – I just can’t decide what that might be.

I’ve eliminated some options: I don’t want to be a custodian, security guard, elementary school teacher, waitress, salesperson, prostitute, landscaper, garbage person, police person, insurance agent, or librarian. Those careers are out. Other careers I might like for a while, but I’d get tired of it quickly: nutritionist, interior designer, secretary, grant-writer, politician, college professor, stunt person, candle maker, fashion designer, museum curator, indie artist of handmade items, milliner, test driver, secret shopper, Pampered Chef consultant, baker, events planner, and manager.

Here are some things I really think I’d like to make a career out of: actor, film historian. Oh. That’s it.

Take an online career test, you say? Oh, please. Been there. Done that. I can make those say whatever I want. Phony bologna.

I was chatting with my mother this weekend and learned that my father didn’t know what he wanted to do with his life until well after he graduated from college; he travelled the world after graduation and only settled down to a job when it became absolutely necessary. My mother just graduated from nursing school in 2009, so she was over 50 before she started doing what she wanted to do. I take heart.

Maybe I’ll just go back to school to get my Master’s in film or acting or something-or-other. Maybe I’ll travel the world until I run out of money and have to get a job I hate… or be a barista (again). Maybe I’ll pray Josh becomes really rich so I can just sit around at home and putz. I’d love to become one of those ladies who lunch.

Powered by Plinky

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Decisions, Decisions

  • ukulefty says:

    Haha! I hear ya… I think I’ve passed my point, but never too late right? Hmmmm. Your opening like really struck a chord with me, I just love it: “I like to think Iā€™m whimsical and free-spirited, but I think Iā€™m just non-committal.”

  • Clever Days says:

    it’s nice to know others are just as indecisive about what they want to do as i am. šŸ™‚ and, if you ever use that line in a song you write, i ask only that you rhyme “non-committal” with “fickle.”

  • CupK8 says:

    It sounds like you have some version of Hobby ADD like I do. šŸ˜‰ I find lots of those cool creative things get old after a while, and I have to switch it up for variety’s sake.

    I made my choice very early on in life, so I have no advice to offer. Only that I think your list of possible careers that you’d get bored with is awesome. And I’d love to see your CV after you do all of that.

  • Clever Days says:

    Haha. Thanks for being encouraging, Kate! Maybe someday I’ll be sending you my CV in hopes of your hiring me! šŸ˜‰

  • Azeem Baig says:

    great…..

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Decisions, Decisions at Clever Days.

meta

