Social Media Pet Peeve

May 24, 2011 § 3 Comments

Arnold Nash: Complaints, complaints, nothing but complaints! I could do some complaining, too, you know. You ever cut your toenails? – Send Me No Flowers (1964)

 flickr

I struggle with Facebook & Twitter posts which are complaints – unless they happen to be clever, in which case: thank you for turning your dire situation into a smile of wit.

Thumper: [clears throat] If you can’t say something nice… don’t say nothing at all. – Bambi (1942)

Some examples of my Social Media Pet Peeve:

I haven’t had time to get a shower today. The kids are screaming and I have a headache. I can’t wait until my husband gets home so I can have some time to myself.

Can’t stand this anymore! People just need to get things right. I hate when they won’t listen to me!

I am so offended at everyone’s political/religious opinions. They need to keep to themselves and stop posting stuff.

My child just colored all over my white wall and now I have to clean it up. I hate my life.

I’m fat and I’m ugly and everyone else I know is skinny and pretty.

No one loves me. I’m so lonely. I have nothing to do tonight.

I hate being sick. I have this and this and this wrong with me and I can’t get in to see the doctor until next August and I don’t have money to buy toothpaste. Going to play Kinect all day to try to get my mind off things.

(And, just for the record, your social media offense is even worse if your use of grammar and/or spelling reveals that you might be ignorant. Ugh. The Worst.)

Some examples of Social Media Perfections:

I just made lemon lavendar scones and my life is better because of it. Here’s the link to the recipe: [insert link]

I’m celebrating Bob Dylan’s birthday today. He’s 70! Wow!

My tights are no longer falling down, I made a dentist appointment, and I’m brewing myself some ginger tea. What a good day.

I just got the iPhone 4 and it’s amazing!

I just got the iPhone 4 and it’s kicking my tail!

Surgery went well. Pretty pumped about starting life with one hand!  If this were golf, I’d be winning – not Charlie Sheen style, either.

Food. I need food. Sustinance is the name of the game.

I’m a mess. Not in the “beautiful mess” way. In the “you dropped an omelette all over the floor then stepped in it” way. (real tweet from @baileygenine)

My children walked out the door this morning with no coat, no lunch, and no thought for their appearance. It’s OK, though, because each remembered his/her cell phone.

See? Social media perfections are attainable even if you tend to be a complainer – you just have to clean up your act a little. Take yourself less seriously. Be clever.

Powered by Plinky

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Social Media Pet Peeve

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Social Media Pet Peeve at Clever Days.

meta

